Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Semi-Newbie: Looking for Advice on New Bass Purchase

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Totengraber, Aug 20, 2002.

1. Hello, my name is Todd and I've been playing (read: goofing off) bass guitar off and since about 1991. I've never played in a band or anything, I just play for my own enjoyment at my house. Anyway, I bought a Rogue 5-string bass a couple of years ago and I'm not too happy with it. It seems they took the 4-string model and replaced the bridge and nut to add the fifth string, so the string spacing is rather narrow. So, I've decided to get a new bass and here's what I've been looking at:

- Kramer Baretta 522S/P
    - Kramer Striker 522S
    - Toby Deluxe-5
    - Cort Curbow 5
    - Fender 5-string Std Jazz Bass
    - Squier Std P-Bass Special 5-string

I'm trying to keep the price range in the $0-$500 range. This will be the most I've ever spent on an instrument, but I think I've learned the "you get what you pay for" lesson all too well.

The 5-string thing isn't necessary, I just like the super-lows you can get out of that extra string.
    Anyway, any advice you guys could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Todd Dunn

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    Kinda like a Rickenbacker! ;)

FWIW, I would look hardest at a Fender MIM Jazz 5 and at a MTD Kingston 5. Most of the examples I've seen of each of these have been very impressive, with good quality construction and a decent B string.

I'm a big MusicYo fan and customer, but you can do better than the Toby and Kramer in your price range. Personally, I'd always look at a MIM Fender before a Squier. And I have minimal experience with Corts, so no comment there.

Have fun looking!