Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

semi pro rig: what's best. any help appreciated.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by noely71, Feb 14, 2003.

1. Hi I’m a new member. I’m after some advice on a semi pro rig. I hope you haven't answered this quite broad question before, I looked, but i didn't find much. I've been playing for about 6 years,
    My 400 watt peavey combo has just about had it I’m looking for a bigger set up But I have no idea what’s good. I’ve been looking at GK, ampeg, EV,Hartke and loads of others. I have to admit I’ve got no idea what a pre-amp does for tone or power, or what active crossover is :meh:
    but I’m after something that packs a tight punch with a big bottom end.
    I’m thinking 4X10's, 1X15 and a big head

dunno but, what's best?

any ideas?

2. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    Hey and Welcome!

I won't get into specific brands as I don't know the type of music you play + I'm in the USA and have different stuff available.

BUT 'in a nutshell'...

the Pre is what generates your tone.

the power amp is what generates the volume.

an active cross over will allow just the High end to go to the power section and into a specific cab with the low having it's own path.

My preference is 12 inch or 15 inch speakers. My 'dream rig' right now is an Ashdown ABM500RC (500 watt head) pushing a Bergantino HT212 OR an EX112 and HT115... but what's best for me ain't for everyone.

3. leftybassdog

leftybassdog Senior Supporting Member