Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Separate pre-amp and power-amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GillesUnchained, Nov 4, 2005.

1. This is my first time on this forum. Please forgive me if this topic has been covered.

I need a new amp. The one I use now is not up to the job. Instead of just buying a new amp, I've been thinking of getting a separate pre-amp and power-amp. I don't see many players doing this, but it seems like a few players on this forum do.

So what do I need to consider when buying these two pieces of new equipment? I think I'm going to get an Ampeg SVT pre-amp, because I used to play and SVT-4 and I like the sound of it. But what should I know about power-amps?

Can I get a power-amp like ones normally used to run a PA and bridge it? Would it be better to buy one of these mono-block units I keep seeing that are made especially for bass? And why are they so expensive? Are they all-tube, and does it really benefit bass players to have all-tube power? What kind of wattage is needed to run 8x10 in this kind of rig? I like to play loud enough for the guitar players to ask me to turn down. Is there a good brand or model of power-amp that works well for bass?

Is there anything special I should know about hooking up this type of rig? And lastly (maybe it should be firstly), who recommends this type of setup and who recommends a traditional amp head?

Thanks for your help.

2. Mr. Pickle

Mr. Pickle

Aug 20, 2005
    im just going to say the qsc power amps are great. especially for the price.

3. Hi,
    If you're thinking of going all-tube, don't get anything lower than about 200w to 300w - to run the big ampeg 8x10's.

I'm going down the same route myself tho - just bought the SVP-CL - looking at poweramps too, I'm very tempted by the Crown XLS602A, but I haven't made up my mind.