September 11th Poem

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by rangerz715, Sep 15, 2003.

1. Hey guys I wrote this poem in school the other day on September 11th. I left in school and i havn't been able to post it but I really wanted to know what everybody thought. This is my first time really sitting down and writing something so I would really appreciate some honest feedback. Thanks.

Never Fall

The towers stood strong,
    with all there might.
    Waiting for,
    the final fight.

We lost the battle,
    but won the war,
    and that is what were,
    fighting for.

They tried to deal,
    a fatal blow,
    but then we went,
    to them to show.

The towers fell,
    but were not lost.
    We will come through,
    no matter the cost.

And that is why,
    we will survive.
    'Cuz theres no way,
    that we can hide.

We came through,
    so strong and tall,
    and that is why we'll,
    Never Fall.
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Too Dr. Seuss. Good poems dont have to rhyme so much. They need to flow. And this didnt flow.
  3. see, if you ever find yourself writing lines like this that are completely awkward just so they rhyme, you are writing poorly. i guess the parallel between towers falling/country falling is good, but the rest is cheesy. if i were you i'd avoid the topic entirely, because unless you're t.s. eliot it's gonna come out bad. :meh:
  4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002

for me, a good poem says exactly what you mean to say with minimal wordage.

I'm not one for long poetry, the way I see poetry, it's the culmination of an understanding of language, so you shouldn't need to use a lot of it if you understand how it works, you can say what you mean to say with less.

much like with music....

This poem did have a flow, it was a little bit punctuated at times, but the flow was there, some lines were strained too hard to get them to work with the rhyme pattern though.
  5. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000