1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Serious Electric Bass by Joel Di Bartolo - solved question about exercise

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bherman, Aug 28, 2017.

1. bherman

bherman Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2009
    Grand Junction, CO
    I've been working my way through this book for the past several years and have gotten to some sections that are stumping me (chord inversions in the Five-Position system). Thought I'd check and see if anyone else is working with this book (or has in the past) that I could pm with to see if I could get more clarity.

Thuddy Waters (see post below) suggested that I post it as a general question for all, not just those who own/use the book, so here goes.

The exercise that was stumping me deals with Diatonic 7th Chord inversions. I was having trouble figuring out how the chord progressions move through the changes on each note of the chord.

The Di Bartolo book spends a great deal of time on learning chords and scales in five positions for all keys. The positions are named for the degree of the scale in which the position starts. For example, Position 3-4 starts on the 3rd scale step. In C Maj the third degree is E, so position 3-4 starts with the open E string; with me so far?

In the first part of the exercise, the objective is to learn to play all of the Diatonic 7th chords in each position. So for C in 3-4 position (starting with the open E string), you start with Em7, then Fmaj7, G7, Am7, and so on.