Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Serious Musicians?

Discussion in 'Ask Mike Watt [Archived]' started by William Benton, Sep 24, 2002.

1. Hi Ya Watt!
    Well this isn't specifically a basser question, nor is their an easy answer, but...
    I can't find musicians that are serious. Every band I end up in ends up VERY part-time...with obstacles ranging form college, to girlfriends, to musicians being in several other bands!
    I played bass for many years, until about 6 years ago, when I started playing guitar in a band. I fell in love with it, and I feel it's what I was meant to play now. But, when I played bass...people (potential band members) would tell me my style was too "funky", "jazzy", or "fuggin' weird". So, I got discouraged.
    I would also get hassled to use a pick. Go figure.
    So, with my weird and twisted reasoning...I devoted more time to the guitar. And now I get some of the same accusations on it!
    Anyways, I have been in Louisville for five years...had some close calls as far as good opportunities, but...people always bail.
    Maybe I should move? Maybe I should buy a drum machine and go solo? Ha!
    How's things in Pedro? Any bands need a six-stringer by chance? Haha!
    Take care of yourself, good man. And thanks for changing my life, and my point-of-view on music so many years ago. You did the damage that altered my vision forever when I look at my instrument. You got me in a car to leave a small town in Oklahoma to find happiness in music. I have done a lot, and I shall do a lot more.
    Anyways, thanks again, kind sir. Come back to the 'Ville as soon as ya' can.

Your friend,

William Benton

2. watt

watt TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

william,