1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Session Bassist?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by thebbconspiracy, Jul 24, 2012.

1. I know, this is a long shot. But I want to know some pointers. Mostly gear wise.
    I'm a 20 year old bassist, been playing for 5 years, can read notation, tab, have a good ear, Nashville numbers (I live in Bakersfield, so I felt it was needed) and chord charts. I know scales. But my questions are, (probably a stupid question) do I really need to have a P and J bass or is that just rumor? Right now I have a Gibson Tbird, and a Ibanez fretless that I'm modding to have a P/J set up. So, I guess my real question is, does anyone have any pointers for the step in the right direction?

2. erock0138

erock0138

Feb 4, 2011
    Cincinnati
    In my experience, (adding that so I don't get burned for this). Most of the studios I've been hired in usually want a p or j, and sometimes a sansamp di. Why? Because they're the most common, they know how to get the sounds they want from them. You're hired to play bass, write parts, give the songs what they need, be accurate, and on time, etc. They are hired to make the album/song sound good. And most producers/engineers control your sound, that usually starts with a p and or a j.

3. erock0138

erock0138

Feb 4, 2011
    Cincinnati
    Also, having another bass strung with flats comes in very very handy.

4. TomB

TomB Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2007
    Vermont