1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Session Work Offer

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Swinging Beef, Dec 11, 2006.

1. Session Work Offer
    Hi everyone.
    Im new to this forum, so if Im in the wrong area, sorry about that.

I have been offered some session work to play on a cd release of a young band.
    These guys seem to have their stuff together, but would like upright/double bass on one track. They have sent me a demo of the song and the score.
    Ive been playing bass and bass geetar for nearly 20 years, but never done any session work, before, but have played as a hired gun for some years.

Is there any trick to this?
    What and how do I charge? Hourly, track, travel time, etc?

Any help would be appreciated.

The gear I mostly use is a german upright, a sansamp, and eden nemesis 2x10, and a 60s fender jazz. Im in Sydney Australia

2. christ andronis

christ andronis

Nov 14, 2001
    Chicago
    I don't think you have to be concerned about bringing an amp. If the studio is decent and not a homemade job, they should mic your bass and probably have you in some sort of isolation booth or partition. The Sansamp would be ok to bring but you probably won't even need that. I would also do some research on the studio, maybe even call and talk to the engineer to find out what his specs are for recording.

As far as what to charge, I'm not sure what the scale is Down Under. Ask around to get a feel for what session work is paying.

Other than that, just go in and play!

Have fun.

3. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago
    I try to feel the client out a bit. I quote $75/hr. I will negotiate down to $50/hr but not below.

4. thanks guys
    not a lot of feedback onthis subject on any forum it seems.

perhaps not a lot of people play paid work:crying:

5. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA