Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Set In Necks

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Worshiper, Jan 30, 2005.

1. Worshiper

Worshiper

Aug 13, 2004
    New York
    Just finished basic sanding of my new bass body (will post pics soon) and I began to think. I was originally going to put LEDs as fret markers using a bolt on. However, my body is increadibly small so I figure that a set in with a neck that extends beyond the end of the fingure board will better suit me in this case. Here's my question. I have no experience with set ins. How do I do it? That is, how do they differ from bolt ons both in shape and assembly? Do I need anything other than glue to hold the neck in? And most importantly, will it last over time?

2. Suburban

Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden
    Good start! ;)
    How:
    You make a neck end that you find suites its purpose, make a pocket in the body that fits the neck and glue it in. OK,OK, I am ironic,OK, no offence intended, but I am indeed a teaser...
    Anyway, it is actually that simple and straightforward!

The heel can be similar to the neck of a bolt-on, or extended to add some glue area. Personally, I'm a bit suspicious to those joints that are extended all the way to the pickup. Others, like JP, are not.

Is glue enough?
    Yes. There is no need for any other part to keep it together, but you need to make sure that you clamp the joint well while the glue is not yet set!

Will it last?
    Yes. Well, if you use white PVa glue, it will yield a little and may end up with problems. But there are instruments that have been out there for almost a century, glued up with hide glue in similar joints. And a lot that have been used for 30-40 years with aliphatic glue joints, showing no yield.

3. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Maryland
    Owner: FBB Bass Works