Set List Sharing

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by BOOG, Jun 19, 2021.

1. BOOG

BOOG

Dec 13, 2016
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Something that kind of mildly irks me; I wanted to rant a little and get your take on it…

Background: The (cover) band project I’ve been working on for a couple of years is finally getting some traction and we’re starting to get gigs.

Situation: Other musicians in the area I know ask me what our set list is.

To me, this just feels like them looking for answers instead of doing your homework.

I’m not unresponsive to the inquiries but, I wonder if any of you out there have the same feeling and how others handle their responses.

Pet Sounds and Peter Torning like this.
  2. ArtechnikA

ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

Feb 24, 2013
    SEPA
    Come to our show.
    Bring a pencil.

I might share some song titles.
    But there is a craft to building a set list - they're on their own for that.

3. BOOG

BOOG

Dec 13, 2016
    Cleveland, Ohio
    See, I kind of feel like that, too.

SoCal80s and Peter Torning like this.
  4. Seanto

Seanto

Dec 29, 2005
    USA
    Lol, that is some major insecurity right there on their part. I would never imagine asking a group for their setlist unless i was preparing to play a gig with them!

dasherf17, viper4000, Pocket4 and 8 others like this.
  5. RattleSnack

RattleSnack

Sep 22, 2011
    Europe
    I wouldn't mind sharing set list with anyone. There is more to playing good gig than simple list of song. If someone thinks this will help them copy success, they are free to try ;)

Edit for better understanding: No two bands play song exactly the same way. So, some combinations can work for one band, and not for another. Also, one singer can pull off one song, and another better one can't.
    Set list is much more than good combination of songs, it's a wisdom that evolved from band experience.

Last edited: Jun 19, 2021
  6. BOOG

BOOG

Dec 13, 2016