1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

set up advice for a new J Bass?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by powderfinger, Mar 22, 2009.

1. powderfinger

powderfinger

Feb 24, 2009
    I got a new Mexican Fender Jazz Bass a few weeks ago.

What is an "average" set up for most bassists who play these basses? And what type strings? And what gauge? What about the action?

I like to play a little hard with my plucking hand, yet physically have a hard time with high action on the fretting end. So super low or high action is out of the question. I hate low action more though, b/c I feel like I have to be so delicate.

Also, string brand/guage? Whats some good ideas?

Im not a beginner, but not a master either. Im actually a pianist and keyboardist who switched to bass out of necessity and happened to really fall in love with the bass!!!

2. Brand and gauge of string: Depends if you plan on drop tuning or not, if not ive recently discovered that a Medium Set of GHS Boomers are great strings that smooth out nicely when they get old.