Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Several questions...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by wecldgetkilled, Nov 21, 2004.

1. wecldgetkilled

wecldgetkilled

Nov 14, 2004
    I am trying to assemble a jazz bass using this body and i noticed several things that called for moding the body.

I dont want to mess up the body in anyway so i came here for help.
    I need help on the following:

1. Grounding the pickups.
    (i heard something about using a router from a freind)

2. Installating the pups

3. The bridge....I know that i have to measure 34inches from the nut but I am uncertain of how i will be able to make sure it is postioned right.

Im new to all of this so please help me out so I can start :bassist: ASAP!

2. Groove Theory

Groove Theory Grizzly Adams DID have a beard.

Oct 3, 2004
    The Psychiatric Ward
    A Router for grounding the pups? are you talking about running a wire up from the pot casing to the bridge?
    if so all you need is a drill....or if you don't want to you don't have to. just make sure that your control cavity is very well shielded...you might want to read the thread "is string grounding necissary" or something like that. there was alot of great discussion about this issue in there.

What about the installation did you need help on? it looks like your pup's cavities are already routed out, just make sure that the pups fit in there (not too tight)...drill a couple of pilot holes where the screws go into the body, run the wiring to the control cavity. and put you're pups in...usually there is some sort of foam underneath the pickup to push up on the pickup lightly, so that you can raise/lower the pup by tightening/loosening the screws.