1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Severe thumb pain!

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Oldcoops, May 16, 2011.

1. Hey guys,

I know you've probably heard people whining on about this a thousand times before, but I'm a beginner on the bass and I'm finding that after playing for over 30 minutes at a time I'm getting serious cramps in my thumb.

My other fingers are strengthening up ok, and I'm not experiencing much pain there. But I can't seem to get to a stage where I can get rid of the pain in my thumb.

I'm self taught as there are no double bassists in my area, so it's very possible I'm doing something wrong technique-wise.

Should I just try concentrate on using less pressure while playing? or could it be something else??

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. MNAirHead

MNAirHead Supporting Member

are you taking lessons to get the technique down?

3. I would love to take lessons but there are no teachers in my area

4. anonymous02282011

anonymous02282011 Guest

Jun 27, 2007
    I imagine you're talking about your fingering hand (NOT your bowing/plucking hand) in which case this is very normal, but not at all good.

Unless you have some underlying injury, the reason for your thumb pain is that the fingers of your 'fretting' hand are weak so you're compensating by pressing your thumb into the back of the neck. It's very common for beginners who haven't developed strength and independence in the fingers.

Although it's common, it will lead to poor technique and more serious injury down the line if you don't break the habit.

There are ways to teach finger independence and gain strength through specific exercises that a good teacher would be able to help you with.

5. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg Supporting Member

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago