Sheldon Dingwall just called me...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Flatwound, Feb 27, 2004.

1. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    ...from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan in the frozen north. I had left him a phone message with a few questions about my upcoming Afterburner purchase. I'm not a professional, nor a well-known amateur, but I get this level of service. I'm guessing you would, too. I told him he could e-mail me if he wanted to, but he was willing to call me long-distance and clear up any questions I had. We talked about the body woods he had available, pickup designs, currently available finish colors (Barry is going to e-mail me some pix), the sound sample thread, and so on.

I'm really amazed that you can just call and talk to these guys. I was 99 44/100 % sure I was going to buy an Afterburner, but all doubt is gone now.

On other occasions, I've talked to Mike Tobias and Ken Smith. They just happened to answer the phone when I called. I've really learned a lot from these conversations, but one thing I've really learned is that these guys care and will give you personal service. I e-mailed Alembic once to ask about their strings, and got a detailed answer pretty quickly from Mica Wickersham.

But for me, Sheldon's the king, because he called me.

I really am going to have to change my tag line. :bassist:
  2. Yep, Sheldon is a great guy to work with. He is very friendly and fast to reply and very customer oriented, which is something that is usually (and oddly) lacking in a lot of businesses that operate these days.

Nov 24, 2001
    New York,NY

One of THE best in the business.

Sheldon has also contacted me personally on the phone & discussed my ideas of upgrading my electronics on my Prima.

He's a stand up guy & a fanatic with his products.

PS: I just might take the upgrade plunge shortly, stay tuned...
  4. ivanthetrble

Sep 9, 2002