1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Shen basses

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by FourSidedSquare, Sep 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. FourSidedSquare

FourSidedSquare

Sep 23, 2017
    NC
    Hello, I've been playing the bass for about 4 months now. I'm looking at a new bass because the one I was renting was way overpriced, a cheap used laminate that wasn't that great for $3000. I'm looking for something in that price point, around $3000. I'm deciding between one of the Shen basses at the Bass Violin Shop.

What would be the difference between a "cheap" one like an SB80 (laminate) versus something like an SB150 or SB180 (hybrid) or a carved one like the SB200 Willow (carved)? SB190 seems pretty nice too, but it's a little pricey. If it's way better then i'll consider it.

How much more maintenance would a carved bass need than a hybrid? The shop is a couple hours away from where I live, would prefer not to have to go there extremely often.

For the SB150, what's the difference between the oil finish and the lacquer finish?

And what is that mid-century german 3/4 bass?

Last edited: Sep 24, 2017
  2. Phil Rowan

Phil Rowan Supporting Member

Mar 2, 2005
    Brooklyn, NY
    I'll preface this by saying that the search function here on TalkBass is very useful for finding answers to questions such as yours.

Beginners Guide to Buying a Double Bass | TalkBass.com
    Beginners Guide to Buying a Double Bass | TalkBass.com

Also, some very good insight here: AES Fine Instruments

Not quite sure, but I think it might just be a matter of looks (other TB'ers care to chime in?).

3. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

Apr 2, 2013
    Tennessee