1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Shen or Hoffman?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by VitaminC, Sep 25, 2010.

1. VitaminC

VitaminC

Oct 4, 2008
    I am a college student looking for a functional beginner bass. the one I am using right now is a Kay with warped f-holes, whacked out action, bent bridge, and a scroll held on by two dry-wall screws. This is the school's bass so i imagine it has seen hell.
    The two basses I am currently looking for are:

The Upton Bass Shen SB80.
    I like that it is from Upton. They do great work and are extremely helpful. Their Shens are also altered to be better basses with triple AAA ebony, new tuners, and more. They seem to be the best ply-woods around.

I did see a local Franz Hoffman bass for sale though. I do not know muh about Hoffman basses, but I do not think the follow into the CCB spectrum (do they?). It has gamab sides, which doesn't mean a lot to me, though I am a violin corner sides kind of guy.The owner is asking $1200 or best offer. It comes with a case, but I do not know which kind.

I am on the fence either way. I am just curious on all the TBDB community's input.

Thank you, Vitamin C

P.S. Also, the upton with bow, case, rosin, and all will be about $1780. (including shiping)

2. DerHoggz

DerHoggz I like cats :| Inactive

Feb 13, 2009
    Western Pennsylvania
    Hey, I play on a school Kay with similar problems to yours. The main difference is they are decking screws holding the neck on.
    :crying:

3. salcott

salcott Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2007
    NYC, Inwood.
    Shen+upgrades+reputable luthier=good deal. IMHO, of course.

4. MIKMAN

MIKMAN

Mar 4, 2008
    Larisa, Greece
    +1!!!

5. Are you going to be playing jazz or classical?

6. VitaminC

VitaminC

Oct 4, 2008
    I will mainly be doing classical, but having the option to do jazz would be nice, but not life or death.