Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Shen or Upton? Advice is needed...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by profautovoncoq, Oct 22, 2005.

1. I've been playing EB for a few years and I'm in my college jazz band, right now, but quite frankly, I can't take not owning an upright any more. I'd love to do orchestral stuff in the future (i once played violin if it means anything).

I've more or less managed to narrow down my choices between Upton's medio fino models (which I would buy from their website) and Shen's SB100 (which I would buy from Nick Lloyd's website). I'm just hearing nothing but good things about both, which makes deciding even harder. I can't seem to find any of these in NYC, but I'm actually very comfortable with a semi-blind purchase. I can pretty much only afford 2 g's, including a gig bag and maybe a wheel to get me to school.

I've gone through the newbie links, but nothing satisfies. I was hoping some of you fine folks who've experience either or both could help?
    What's the better bass? Whats the better deal? Know a place in NYC where i can find either? Anything, please...don't let me die.

2. Hey Man,
    We're all gonna die, but I'll try to help you put it off. I have experience with neither bass, but I have experience living in NYC, and amtrak or metro north trains should get you pretty close to Gary Upton's shop in CT, and then you can play one for yourself, I bet someone in NYC will let you play their Shen for a six pack if you ask.............Peace. Arnold S. Gottlieb

3. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA