1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Shen SB 80 Bass - Good Deal for Beginner ?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by bass1000, Oct 28, 2009.

1. bass1000

bass1000

Jan 26, 2009
    Columbus, Ohio
    Hi Everyone, Im a DB newbie, so I'm looking at renting this Bass. They said total price was 1800. What do you guys think, is this a total waste of money? Do i have 3 grand to plop down on a bass right now? No - so that factors in too. I'd just like to know i'm not getting totally ripped off. Any advice would be great. I've also thought about starting out on a NS design bass.

2. Bass Barrister

Bass Barrister

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago
    $1800 to rent a bass? I don't think that's what you meant to say. $1800 may or may not be a good PURCHASE price, depending on who is selling it and the quality of the setup.

The Shen SB80 gets good grades around here as a basic entry level plywood bass. Of course, you should check out any bass you want to buy in person. If you don't feel you know enough to evaluate a DB, bring someone with you who does.

FYI: there's a Shen SB80 on Chicago Craigslist selling for $1450. I don't have any specific knowledge about this bass.

Two more pieces of advice: Check out the "newbie" threads at the top and fill out your profile. Knowing where you are, generally, allows others to offer more concrete suggestions as to what's out there.

3. frichter

frichter

Mar 26, 2007
    Chicago, IL
    I personally have never played an SB 80. That being said, every Shen I have played has been of high quality, and I have always been impressed with their sound, playability, and consitency.

I think renting is a good idea, and your pricepoint should allow you to stay away from a bass which may end up costing more in the long run.

If you do indeed have 1800 to spend on a bass, you have options . . . be sure to play before you pay. Good luck.