1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Shifting and string noise

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by dkziemann, Mar 9, 2008.

1. dkziemann

dkziemann Supporting Member

Dec 13, 2007
    Rochester, NY
    Endorsed by D'Addario
    Hey all,

I've been playing upright bass for about 7 years, and recently picked up electric bass (officially). I have an easy quick question. One of my problems is that when I shift, or even just play notes in the same position I get lots of string noise (like my fingers are grazing the top of the string and you get the annoying shifting sound). I'm not really sure why that happens but it definitely contributes to the "amateur" bass sound. Anyways of working around that or helping to stop it completely?

Thanks!

Danny

2. arthurzen

arthurzen

Feb 29, 2008
    New England
    Play flatwounds :)

Seriously --> I get the "grinding" sound, especially on new round-wounds. I find it difficult to get rid of entirely - I just try to shift with as delicate a touch as possible, if even touching the strings at all.

As the strings break in and lose their "metallic" sound, it will go away as well.

If you're playing with other musicians, you won't really hear it (especially with a drummer).

Good luck!

3. hey, the bass IS a noisy instrument... one factor that can contribute to string noise is EQ settings, if you can afford to lose your 'tone' a bit, try playing with the settings and seeing what can be cut back a bit? I find that lots of mids tends to increase the string sound... as well as when using distortion etc its increased tenfold... BUT there have been some major groups with polished recordings who release songs with the sound on them... so cant be all bad,...