Shifting from mainly pick to mainly fingerstyle - Ideas?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Jack, Aug 21, 2004.

1. Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK
    Ok guys,

Ive been playing bass for about 19 months now and Ive slowly started using my fingers more and more. Now Im using my fingers almost exclusivly but I think I need some tips.

Ive always been 'ok' with my fingers but Ive always had problems with a few things:

1. I keep accidentally hitting strings I dont mean to, though this is happening less and less.
    2. If I play quickly my notes loose definition, especially on the lower strings.

Any ways to combat this?

Yes . . . . . I know . . . . . practice. . . . .

2. Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    You got it.
  3. Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK
    And how exactly do I practise getting more definition?
  4. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    This is a similar case to mine. Last rehersal we were playing Little Girl by Steve Miller, in which the bass part is prominent in holding down this simple ditiditiditidit (nine sixteenth notes -are they eighths... dang.) on just one note (I suppose I should be able to remember what that note is too, huh?... it's between the dots; I remember that... dang.). I thought to myself how those notes need super-clean definition, yet a smoooth and easy feel (NOT distinct like from muting the strings above the fret and hammering the note to make it sound like organ pedals or something, or the 'violent' sound of a pick), and how those notes weren't getting the proper treatment from me! Now a regular part of my practice is playing scales with doubled-up or triplet plucks.

Hasn't done me much good yet in about three hours worth of total practice in the last three days (about 20min of which actually incorporating this definition excercise), but I'll let you know in another week if I'm beginning to NOT sound like a rank amateur on that song.