1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Shopping for first amp, in need of suggestions/opinions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by benjammin420, Nov 8, 2010.

1. Hey guys, I've been playing around with bass for a few months (Ive been playing guitar for 10+ years) and have decided to get my own setup and try to make a go as a bass player for a while. I haven't pulled the trigger just yet, but I'm pretty sure I'm going with a Classic Vibe Jazz bass.

I like a warm, organic sound, I don't really need sterile cleans or alot of distortion (there are pedals for that) The kind of tones I like are Bootsy Collins (circa James Brown), James Jamerson, John Paul Jones.

My main concerns (besides sound) are durability/reliability and power. I dont have experience playing live on bass, so I dont know how much power I would/should need, but I'd like to have "enough." I'm looking for something in head form (the more portable the better) and could also use input on speakers and cabs too.

As far as budget, I don't want to spend more than I have to of course, but I do want something that is worth buying, as a long term investment.

My local store doesn't have alot of selection, and I've been able to get workable tones with pretty much all the amps Ive tried (Ampeg Micro VR, a few Markbass's, Orange AD-200)

Any input and advice would be appreciated :D

2. so are you looking at micro rigs? or full out balls to the walls 3 810 rigs big?

3. emor

emor

May 16, 2004
    kcmo
    Mesa Walkabout with Scout cab combo (12" or 15").
    You can pull the head to use with other cabs if necessary.
    There is a multi-part megathread on the Walkabout--lots of enthusiasts.