Short-Scale Arched-String Lined Fretless Build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by R. Laevinus, Feb 19, 2010.

1. ...okay, so here goes: I'm in the late planning stages of my first build. Before I get into the nitty-gritty, I'll say that while I have a considerable amount of general woodworking experience (boats, framing houses, making cabinets, laying floors/hanging ceilings, etc) and a significant amount of experience modifying instruments, I have never built an instrument before.

So with that out of the way, my plan is for a short-scale (27.5 inch) lined fretless, with a fingerboard and bridge arched sufficiently to allow arco playing when desired (using a cello board and bridge).

In order to make the build quick and simple, I plan to:
    - Carve the body/neck/headstock out of a single block of African mahogany with a jigsaw
    - Route, rasp and sand the thing to shape (including cavities)
    - Reinforce the neck with a carbon fibre rod or two (in lieu of an adjustable trussrod)
    - Glue the FB, nut, etc. on
    - Install hardware and string it up (4 string, either standard cello strings/tuning or bass standard)
    - Use a rented strobe tuner to ascertain precisely where each fretline should fall
    - Inlay the maple fretlines
    - ???
    - PROFIT!

I figure I'll actually get down to business in a week or so, when I have some spare time, but I wanted to post here before I begin final planning so that I can get opinions and advice. Mainly, I want to know what you guys would do differently, were you me.