Short Scale Set w/Higher Tension E

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Peelman, Sep 7, 2017.

1. Peelman

Peelman

Jul 6, 2017
    Dallas, TX
    I'm a beginner just finding my way around and discovering what I like. I have a 30" short scale P bass with a 32" winding length and recently got some D'Addario Chrome Flatwounds. I am definitely enjoying them more than the Fender 5250 Roundwounds I tried previously, but my E feels too floppy (this was also the case with the 5250s).

Looking at some of the tension calculators, these gauge strings have tensions of:

G - 34.54 (.045)
    D - 39.51 (.065)
    A - 34.66 (.080)
    E - 29.58 (.100)

Those numbers seem to back up what I'm feeling. Based on other threads I've read, a sub-30 tension is quite a bit on the low side, is it not? Regardless of the norm, I'm finding it is too loose for me. I'd like to try a more balanced set, what recommendations do you have?

I'm thinking I may need to order individual strings and build my own set in order to get a tighter E without getting my higher strings too tight. Maybe I'm missing something and there is a balanced set out there I haven't come across. Based on individual La Bella strings available, I'd like to try .045-.065-.082-.109 or thereabouts.

Anything I should be aware of? The bass did not have a perfect setup to begin with, so I'm not worried about the increase in overall tension. In fact, there was quite a bit of buzz on open notes and lower frets across the strings with the 5250s and the slightly higher gauge of the Chrome's I'm using now took a bit of it away. A little bit more tension may be all it needs. By no means is that my motivation to change strings, I really do want less give in my E. Once I found a tension that seemed more comfortable, then I'd play with the action some to find my personal preference there.