Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Shorter scale basses.... good or bad?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Skreeeboy, May 31, 2001.

1. Skreeeboy

Skreeeboy

May 31, 2001
    Japan
    My hands are super small. I have an Ibanez that I originally bought because it has a really narrow neck. But I have recently seen a used Gretsch Electromatic bass for sale pretty cheap, and I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with this insturment, good or bad. I am particularily interested in trying it out because it has that shorter neck, and I think I would have an easier time playing it because of the size of my hands. But I am no expert when it comes to the tech end of things. So any advice about this bass, other shorter neck basses, or this subject in general would be greatly appreciated...

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

BAD - IMO!

3. JWC

JWC Banned

Oct 4, 2000
    I played a similair Ibanez for several years. I will say the sound and tones you get from it are not as good as say a Fender, you will find because of the neck it will be easier to play and also the shorter scale length will make plucking a bit easier. Also, sometimes a skinny neck is prone to warp easier I think. But, its all up to you. If you like the way it sounds go for it. Like I said, I played one in a band for a while and got no complaints.