Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Should a Parent be a friend to their Child?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MAJOR METAL, May 23, 2005.

1. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL HARVESTER OF SORROW Staff Member Supporting Member

I have met alot of men and women in their 30's and 40's lately that have expressed the need for their Parent to also be a Friend to them and inturn they are trying to live this parent friend relationship with their own children with mixed results.Whats your take on it, should parents be friends to their children?.

2. Parent & essentially (life) teacher first and foremost, then friend.

I try to be the best of both, with the emphasis on parent. I'm still learning here...I'm only 10 years in, and really, I get a new test every day, practically.

3. mwm70

mwm70

Oct 27, 2004
    Baltimore
    You can be their friend after you raise them properly.

4. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    When I first met my wife, I tried to be buddies with her two kids. I thought I was doing the right thing. There were some respect issues as soon as my wife and I got married. I realized I had to be more of a father who cared about them, than their buddy. It was a real tough time for me since the kids just figured me for this grown up dude who liked to hang out with them, not their step-father. I realize that being a step-parent has its own set of complications, but me acting like their friend did not help.

It took some time to correct the problems I caused. They were young enough at the time, so it was easier.

-Mike

5. I recommend being a friendly parent. In other words, you need to play the parent role, but you also need to adopt the child mindset during play and other appropriate times. When it's time to play, PLAY WITH THEM! Act goofy, take off the parent hat for a while, and be a kid again. It's good for both of you.

6. +1