1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should I build or buy whole?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Techmonkey, Mar 17, 2006.

1. Techmonkey

Techmonkey

Sep 4, 2004
    Wales, UK
    My friend that plays sax is looking into bass guitar... we both run a business and pool the profits for random projects, and so we've decided to use the profits to get him a bass. I'm gonna be using it for recording too. I've had a couple of years of experience, but he's a total beginner. We're looking for a jazz bass (those 60s and 70s Fenders really have the perfect tone) with a maple/maple neck, and a white body.

Our budget is about £300 ($550 ish)... What do you suggest we do? I was thinking about getting a Warmoth neck, and getting a body something like this: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/REPLACEMENT-J...358615710QQcategoryZ41406QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
    Then fitting a Badass II bridge, and maybe some Seymour Duncan pickups. Is it worth doing all this, or should we just buy a used bass complete? I don't mind the work (infact I enjoy it) but will it save us anything?
    Thanks muchos in advance! :bassist:

2. To me, it depends what you mean by a project.

If you can afford to buy the parts, put in the work, and (possibly) end up with a bass that you do not like the sound of, and cannot sell because it has no brand name, then go for it. I am following this path myself with a speaker cab design.

If you need to see something useable for your money, go second hand, and listen before you buy.

3. TheJimster

TheJimster

Feb 21, 2006
    Pensacola, FL