Dismiss Notice

Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, get alerts, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Should I buy a Tokai Rockinbetter, Rickenbacker 4003 copy?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by haggisbobcjl, Jan 4, 2012.

1. haggisbobcjl

haggisbobcjl

Jan 4, 2012
    I live in the UK and I have had an offer from someone else in the UK for a Tokai Rockinbetter bass guitar. It's brand new and the seller says that they would accept £200 with postage for it. Now I am quite new to guitars, I know the general good and bad makes, I really like the Rickenbacker sound but I don' t have anywhere near enough for a genuine one. I have read all the other posts on this topic and I am expected to be told to buy the real thing, I would rather do but I am not willing to spend that much. I have heard mixed reviews of the Rockinbetter 4003, they have added a Rickenbacker decal as well, I'm not expecting anything as good as a Rickenbacker but would anyone reccomend it at the price?

2. haggisbobcjl

haggisbobcjl

Jan 4, 2012
    Does anyone have any exprerience of Tokai Rockinbetters or know how good they are? Would you say they are worth £200 with postage?

3. Register_To_Disable

4. Meddle

Meddle

Jul 27, 2009
    Scotland
    For £200 I absolutely would. :hyper:

At £500 they are overpriced imho. I got to play one and I heard little of the signature Rick sound. However its own sound was quite pleasant. Put on fresh Roundwounds and you might be surprised.

You will never get a lot of support on this forum regarding Rickenbacker copies, though. There is a contingency of Rick fans whose online identity begins to overlap into the territory of unpaid shill work. Rick also have a very aggressive legal team who shoot down copies all the time. However here in the UK their tentacles don't quite extend far enough.