should i buy an eden wt400 or an ampeg svt 3 pro?? advise please

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cosmodrome, May 6, 2004.

1. cosmodrome

cosmodrome Registered User

Apr 30, 2004
    ****town, Netherlands
    hi there,

i've been playing bass for about 10 years now. i thought i had the right set up (trace va 400, peavy & swr triad with a warwick thumb bo 4) but now after playing with my own set in rehearsal for a month i found out that i'm not loud enough.

i've been reading up about the eden and the ampeg and found that the svt 3 pro (i nearly bought it, hence the profile) gets a lot of bad reviews. most svt 3 pro owners r metal/rock/punk and so on. i'm really a funk/soul/r&b and a bit of rock kinda guy, but i play in a rockband now so it needs to be loud.

any advise would be very welcome.
  2. Woodboy

Jun 9, 2003
    St. Louis, MO
    Between the Ampeg and the Eden, I would choose the Eden, hands down. Unless you can find a used 400 for under $500, I'd look at the new Eden 550 head. I compared the 400 and the 550 and to this r&b, roots tone-freak, the 550 was the clear choice.
  3. Davo737

Feb 29, 2000
    Syracuse, NY
    I sold an SVT 3 pro to get an Eden WT-300 (which I've since sent to Eden to have it upgraded to the 400). Volume wise, there was no question that even the WT-300 was louder. Tone wise, it's certainly subjective, but I much prefer the Eden. It sounds great flat and I find it to be significantly more versatile. IMHO, the Eden can sound very much like the Ampeg if you wanted it to, but the Ampeg can't get many of the sounds that the Eden can.

And I agree with what's been said earlier - if you can swing it, go for the WT-550. More headroom is never a bad thing.
  4. The Ampeg SVT III Pro is kind of a gutless amp from a volume/loudness perspective. The only thing that I don't like about Edens is the parametric equalizer, I understand the principal but have never quite got the hang of it.
  5. cosmodrome

Apr 30, 2004