Should I buy this MTD Kingston Heir?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by beakertwang, Sep 19, 2016.

1. beakertwang

beakertwang I play guitars, mostly. I have a bass.

Aug 8, 2016
    SE Iowa
    This is available locally for $225 OBO. I have no experience with these; hadn't even heard of the brand until I saw the ad, but it looks to be priced fairly. I imagine if I flash $200 he'll take it. I'm not trying to make money on a flip, but it would be nice to have a decent player, and be able to sell it without losing anything.

Equally important, how do they play and sound?
    9C7D21FB-2F40-4451-9DB7-392540445C0C_zpslibdz6p7.jpg

Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
  2. ezstep

ezstep

Nov 25, 2004
    north Louisiana
    Very ergonomically designed neck. Asymetrical and it gets wider as you move up the neck. MUCH wider. However, I found it to be extremely comfortable to play. Never had a problem with hand cramping, fingers stumbling on top of each other, etc. Very nice. Seriously, if I ever purchase another new bass, the neck will be like this one.

Tone? It's Michael Tobias. Not as bright as the MIA's but really nice. For that price - if nothing is seriously wrong with the bass - go for it. From what I remember, this is the passive, early version. Practically a collector's item already. Get it.

3. jimbilly

jimbilly

Apr 19, 2006
    I had a 5er kinda like that, but with just the bridge hum, I really liked it. I imagine that one would be a really good bass for $200, is it Korean? I like that pickup configuration. If it's Korean, it should be well worth the $200, I say go for it. It was a long time ago, I think I replaced the stock pots with CTS, I don't think I noticed any difference.

4. Sav'nBass

Sav'nBass

Jan 18, 2009
    Virginia Beach