1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

should i change strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by IM BLACK, May 29, 2012.

1. hi yall
    im new to upright and as of now i am playing on some factory steel strings
    the problem is that i am getting blisters on my picking hand
    the strings are not as loose as i would like and i was wondering if anyone could recommend me some better strings/technique?
    thanks

2. More info needed here.
    Has your bass been setup by a luthier? The strings may be too high.
    Basses, especially lower end, usually come with crap shipping strings, which may be your problem.
    Do you have a teacher? I feel it's very important to have a good teacher.... I played for two years before getting a teacher and my finger joints are now deformed from using incorrect technique for those two years.

3. thanks for the reply
    no it hasent been set up
    i dont know too much about upright setup but the strings are low
    (i have played other basses with super-high action)
    the strings arent too cool but i was looking into some gut or synthetic gut but the cost is too much just to try....i do not have a teacher and i was wondering also if my techneque was the prob
    do you know of any websites that might help ehter if those problems?

4. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    I love strings. Some would say addicted to them. They can make a huge difference in your sound, your bass, your playing. We need more information on your instrument and setup.

That said, when you first start playing, you're going to get wicked blisters that make you want to die. Work through it, work around it, stick with it and it will pass....not quickly though, sorry.

5. the blisters are fine...i ether use bandaids or superglue or duct tape to help!