1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Should I even bother?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by powellmacaque, Mar 24, 2009.

1. I am planning on auditioning for my university's music program next month. I have been playing for five years, and I would consider myself an intermediate player with tons of performance experience. I understand basic theory (I got a B+ in Freshman theory I), but I don't read sheet music. Secondly, I've never really played jazz, and in order to play bass guitar, you have to do jazz studies. Third, the heads of the music department have told me that I would eventually need to switch to upright in the future.

I intend to try out using Jaco's version of Opus Pocus, and the bass instructor recommended a jazz standard for a second piece, but I couldn't even begin to tell you what I could play for that. Should I just throw in the towel?

2. If you go for it you might regret it, but if you give up now you'll never know. What's the worst that could happen?

3. onlyclave

onlyclave

Oct 28, 2005
    Seattle
    Let me save you a few thousand dollars: NO. If you can't read standard notation you are wasting your time and money. You will not have time to learn the basics of music while studying music theory, aural skills and music history not to mention all of your other core classes.

4. It's his money to waste. I say go for it, maybe you can pull it off. You obviously want to do it or you wouldn't ask. If you don't try, you'll probably regret it.

5. To be clear, I know how to read sheet music a little. I know the concepts of time and key signatures, the values of the notes, the various dynamic symbols and etc. I guess I would equate my reading level to the level of a elementary school child learning to read and write. I just don't have the experience in sight reading to be proficient.