1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Should I exchange the head that I bought last week

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by fender4ever, Nov 27, 2010.

1. fender4ever

fender4ever

Nov 6, 2010
    last week I went to GC and puchased an acoustic b200h amp head (200 watts). I matched it to a acoustic 410 cabinet. This week I have a coupon that can get me a GK600 backline head (600 watts) for about the same price that I paid for the acoustic. I will keep the acoustic 410 cabinet. Should I make the switch? I am a novice and appreciate any input.

2. Bassdirty

Bassdirty

Jul 23, 2010
    CT
    isnt the backline 600 only 300 watts..?... at 4 0hms?

and I assume the 410 is 8 ohms..so ud prolly be seein like 175 out of the GK? (is this right?)

however..you are seein less than that out of the B200.

Is volume the issue?

I guess the choice is yours my friend...but I'd switch.

(i have a B200 combo that I though)

3. in my experience the acoustic head is better than the backline series head

4. fender4ever

fender4ever

Nov 6, 2010
    the 410 is 8 ohm. volume is the issue. playing small clubs 2 guitars bass and drums.

5. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    The three-fold increase in wattage won't be buying you a whole lot of volume. EQ changes and additional speaker area are what you want to be looking at.

6. Steveaux

Steveaux Safe-Guardian of the Stoopid Supporting Member

Jul 1, 2008
    The Wilds of NW Pa.
    The BL600 is 300w @ 4 ohms.

:rollno:

7. shoot-r

shoot-r

May 26, 2007
    Illinois

+1...
    If your happy with the sound of your G.C. Acoustic 200 head and 410 cabinet I'd suggest adding either another 8 ohm 410 or a 8 ohm G.C. Acoustic 115 cabinet. (Depending on your tastes.)