Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

should i get a sr405

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by deensee, Jul 15, 2001.

1. deensee

deensee

Jul 12, 2001
    Southern CA
    i found a guy selling a sr405 for $450 in the classifieds here at talkbass. is this a good deal?
    is the sr405 a good bass in general?? is $450 a good price for used??
    i am a beginner, and i was looking for a better used bass instead of a cheaper new, if you were wondering... so do you think this would be a good or bad bass for me??
    need advice!! thanks in advance.
    Sharon

2. Cat

Cat

Apr 5, 2000
    Penn State
    for $450 you can get an sr800 factory new. i just did, and i love it. i've heard that the lower ibanez models aren't too hot though. you should go to a music store and check out different used basses in your price range. you might be able to get a really nice high-end bass used for that much. as for me, i'm glad i got my sgr new. there's just something about a brand new bass... :D

3. EString

EString

Nov 20, 2000
    Los Altos, CA
    No.

4. Angus

Angus Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    No. Do not.

5. Sofa King

Sofa King

Aug 20, 2000
    Rowlett, TX
    Hell no. I got an Ibanez BTB405 for less than $450 and it's a helluva lot better

6. $450 for used SR ??

$500 for brand new BTB !!!

( get my point ? :D )

7. deensee

deensee

Jul 12, 2001
    Southern CA
    lol.. ok.. i get the point.. thanks guys.. i guess i'm back to my go-to-the-store-and-try-myself thing...
    oh man.. am i dredding that or what...i'm gonna look stupid and embarrass myself, and i won't know waht to do....ahhhh..
    ok.. well, here's something else to help me on..
    since i'm going to go to the store and try some out, what qualities should i be listening for, when the salesman is telling me about the guitars.