1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should I get the Boss BF-3 Flanger or the CEB-3 Bass Chorus?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by StealthBanana, Jan 15, 2012.

1. Hey all, so I'm just getting into effects and I'm trying to figure out if I should start with using the highly popular BF-3 or if I should stick with the CEB-3 chorus built specifically for the bass. I was thinking of starting with the flanger, just because I know I can get it for cheaper than the chorus pedal right now, but I don't want that to be the only determining factor because I do have the money to get either one, just not both since I'm also getting a DD-3 Delay and some other equipment. I do want both of these pedals eventually, but right now I can only get one of the two.

I use a Sterling by Musicman Ray '34 and am going for that mid 90's Tool sound (back when JC was still kinda using the Stingray before switching to the Wal shortly after their old bassist Paul quit the band). So opinions from anyone who owns either pedal would be nice! Thanks all.

2. How about a good multi effect like the m9/m13 or a boss one or such? Those have all you are looking for and more to get you situated with what effects work with you and your playing style.

3. MSUsousaphone

MSUsousaphone

Dec 4, 2009
    Lake Charles, La
    Endorsed Artist: Myco Pedals
    Yeah...I always recommend multi effects to get you started. Give you a perfect idea of what you like and don't like. I went with the Boss GT-10B when I was first getting into it. I still love that I went that route. The m9 and m13 are perfect, like Von said. The m5 is cheaper. You can't move as quickly back and forth from sounds but you'll still get a good idea of what you like.