Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

should i give bass lessons

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by melvin, May 12, 2001.

1. melvin

melvin

Apr 28, 2001
    that last thread about guitarist as instructors got me thinking about giving bass lessons. the 2 guitar teachers that teach bass have moved or are moving so i was thinking that might be able to teach the kids that want to learn. ive been playing for 2 years but with my two years of jazz band i think its really boosted my playing skills. and another thing im 15 so i dont know if thats gonna push people away from taking lessons. what do you guys think?

2. DarkMazda

DarkMazda

Jun 3, 2000
    NJ
    Well go for it.. Any kinda lesson helps a beginner. Everyone can learn from each other.. Just try to teach them the "Right" way of playing and don't give him/her the bad impression of playing bass.. "Example: Pick Playing.. LOL :D" Well seriously like. where to place the thumb.. not around the neck etc.. etc.. if you dont' teach him the wrong way, there is nothing wrong with giving lessons.. just don't charge him anything or if anything.. very small amount.. Your not really certified to teach bass/guitar.. so just teach him/her. any advice will help anyone .. i myself so far haven't had any lessons but talking to ppl and getting advices (Example: TalkBass!! THANKS GUYS :D) I've improved myself on playing bass.. even doh im still horrible at it hehe but anyways good luck to you

DM:D

3. benjamintowle

benjamintowle Guest

Apr 3, 2001
    usa tewksbury mass