1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

should i go fretless?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jonathan_matos5, Mar 25, 2006.

1. im a newbie and im starting my first lesson on this coming monday i was wondering if because im just starting should i learn how to play on a fretless or wait until i am fairly decent on a fretted bass until i go fretless

2. Diego

Diego

Dec 9, 2005
    San Francisco, CA
    I think they are not mutuially exclusive options

3. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Its hard to start on a fretless and really have it be advantageous. In my opinion, a newcomer wont really have the knowledge of how to take advantage of a fretless. Even playing in tune will be quite difficult, since your ear is not yet developed.

Im sure some people will say " go for it" but i have to disagree.

4. my ear is pretty good from playing trombone in highschool but it has been a couple of years

5. I respectfully beg to differ. Many musicians start out on instruments with no frets. In that respect an EBG needn't be different from a violin or doublebass. If you start with a fretless, certainly switching to frets later will be no problem, and your undeveloped ear will develop faster because you will be depending on it (not your eyes) for the right notes. You also will not develop that difficult to break habit of losing your place in the chart while you're looking away to see which fret you are on. Starting with frets, your ear may never really develop to your potential. You will also not have to hassle as much with setting up your bridge to achieve the proper intonation, which is a steep maintenance learning curve itself. Don't even get one with lines on it. Maybe some dots down the edge, for position references and then listen, read (music), and listen some more.

6. Keef

Keef

Jul 3, 2003
    Hollywood, CA