Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Should I go gut?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by FredH, Jan 12, 2005.

1. FredH

FredH Supporting Member

I just scored a pollmann gamba 1969, yaaaa, got it for a song ;). I love this bass, I practice, rehearse and gig with it (fully insured). I'm very pleased with the sound and easy of it, its very strong in low and mid ranges.

The thing is when I got it, it was strung with Obligato. I like Obli's and have used them in the past, but they get thuddy fast. I find that they start to lose all the richness and overtones after about 4 months of heavy playing. I need new strings and I'm thinking about gut.

My other bass I usually had strung with Spyrocores orchestrals so I have no experience with gut other than playing someone else’s bass for a short time.

Does anyone have any thoughts of what would be a set to string up?

2. Hey Fred

To find out if you can hang with gut, I recommend the European (Efrano brand, from Germany) gut strings from Lemur music. These are a good starting point. After wearing these out, you can step up to Pirastro Chorda which are bigger with a darker sound. You might consider at first just buying the European G and D strings which should work well with the Obligato A and E. This is cheaper than buying the whole set and gets you 75% of the way to the gut jazz sound. If you like those you can try the wound strings, but beware the wound gut E which will not give you much sustain. I like them personally, but many folks opt for a steel or synthetic E instead. Just my $.02.

Jon

3. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC