1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should i go to school?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Manuel101, Jan 27, 2012.

1. Manuel101

Manuel101

Jul 4, 2010
    Here is my story, i have been playing bass for 10 years now. Even though my father is a professional bass player i basically taught myself and only asked him questions when i had doubts. I have already recorded for latin bands as well as rock bands and people usually tell me that i am a great bass player. I work as a math teacher full time and i also attend the harbor music conservatory. I am currently in a project which looks very promising. Recently i have become very disillusioned with my career as a math teacher because of the pressure and abusive i have been subjected to (english and math teachers have it the worst) by the administration (i can handle the kids they are not the problem).

I was looking online and i found that the manhattan school of music offers a masters degree in performance/teaching which would be a nice added bonus because i can then teach music (music teachers have a lot less pressure). My question is will it worth it? will going to school help me increase my skills enough to upset the cost? The drummer from my band says that i already play well enough that i don't need the degree.

Thoughts Please!!

2. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    Owner: BassStringsOnline.com
    You need to look at what you want to do long term.

If its just playing with bands / recording... They are not really going to look at you differently if you have a masters in music. If you are going to teach music, then the masters degree will help more.