1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Should I? (noob here)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Henry Davis, Apr 15, 2015.

1. Henry Davis

Henry Davis

Apr 15, 2015
    Sorry to come in with this out of the blue, I love the bass (upright) and I need some advice.

I started bass in 6th grade, and played through 7th. I loved it, but when I moved to California there wasn't an orchestra anymore and my parents didn't think it was smart to invest in another one without an orchestra to play in. I've dabbled a bit with bass guitar and various other instruments since then, but I've been longing for what I consider a "real" bass ever since.

I'm 28 now, back in college studying engineering, and I have the chance to join a bluegrass ensemble class that's friendly to beginners, and I've found a local place that'll rent to own me an upright for about 50$/m. It'll fit my tight student budget, but affording a private bass instructor on top of that is beyond me.

What I'm thinking of doing is reteaching myself based on my memory of technique and my old books (which I had saved), and filling in the gaps with the internet and YouTube videos. Then there's the ensemble class for actual feedback, and I may be able to mooch tips off the school bass instructors if I can squeeze some of their time out in between actual music students.

I'd really like to pick bass back up. What do you guys think? Should I go for it?

I've been occasionally lurking the forum here a while, I'd value your feedback.

2. If you can afford it, great. Just remember, the instrument is only the first expense. You'll eventually need other gear, like replacement strings, bows, bow re-hairs, rosin, cases, sheet music, and routine instrument maintenance. Etc., etc., etc.