1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should I replace my fingerboard?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Max Mines, May 22, 2017.

1. Max Mines

Max Mines

May 22, 2017
    Hi all,

Tl;dr I have a pre-war German laminate bass that doesn't sound as full and play as nicely as a laminate Shen I often play. Will a fingerboard replacement solve this problem?

I own a pre-war German laminate bass. I'm a college student, and I often play the school's laminate Shen. While my bass is louder than the Shen, and has more character in the high-end (not to mention is better built), the Shen feels easier to play and has a more solid, less twangy sound to it.

858C4872-8E9E-4241-A188-BBB8687C6D75.JPG BB3508BC-C947-4B43-AB15-D7ABB2015F6D.JPG

The fingerboard on my bass is thin, and I'm wondering if the difference in sound/playability can be partially attributed to this. I know a thinker fingerboard would allow me to press down more firmly, and have a firmer grip. Also, less travel in the strings might help with minimizing wavering in pitch.

Obviously no two basses play exactly alike, but I feel that my bass is lacking in areas where the Shen is not. In what ways does a fingerboard replacement change the sound and playability of the bass? Would this be a worthwhile operation in my case?

Thanks,
    Max

2. Maybe just a good setup and soundpost adjustment?
    And new strings?

jleguy and james condino like this.
  3. A thick new ebony board should add fundamental. If yours flexes like a diving board when you push the end toward the belly, it's too thin and should be replaced.

4. krfoss

krfoss Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2007
    Orange County, CA
    I second this.

5. james condino

james condino Spruce dork Supporting Member Commercial User

Sep 30, 2007
    asheville, nc