1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Should I sand the nut slot??

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Bassguitarbubba, Sep 14, 2008.

1. I purchased a new J-neck with a finished maple fret board. I need to install the nut and was wondering if it was best to sand the nut slot before gluing the nut into it.

I've read that CA glue is good for this but I don't know what CA glue is.

Any help is much appreciated.

2. standupright

standupright

Jul 7, 2006
    Phoenix, AZ
    Brownchicken Browncow
    i'm not sure why you would want to glue the nut in the first place.

3. To hold it in place. this is my first build so I thought I would have to glue it. I mean, when I change the stirigs on my other guitars, the nut doesn't fall out so I assumed it was glued in.

4. standupright

standupright

Jul 7, 2006
    Phoenix, AZ
    Brownchicken Browncow
    don't glue.....graphite between the nut and the neck.....if you ever need to change, it will be easier...not to mention that pure floating nut presents a better sound than glued...

5. Of course, music is ALL about the sound. Anything I can to to imporve it is helpful. You also raise a good point about possible future repairs. Thanks for the feedback.

So let me jump back to my original question regarding sanding. I should NOT sand the nut slot and leave it finished?

6. standupright

standupright

Jul 7, 2006
    Phoenix, AZ
    Brownchicken Browncow
    i'm no expert but.....my experience is to sand the nut before you sand the slot.