Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Should I sell my TWO basses to get a Sadowsky?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by birdsg, May 6, 2004.

1. birdsg

birdsg

Dec 18, 2003
    Birmingham England
    Hi all,

I have a dilemma and would appreciate some advice from people who 'know' about Sadowsky basses.

This http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....6&category=4713&sspagename=STRK:MEBWA:IT&rd=1 is advertised on ebay and if I sold both my two existing basses I could just about afford it I think.

I have a Warwick Fortress Masterman 1996 which I dont play much nowadays and a 2003 MIA Fender Jazz Bass which I really like.

I kinda figured that the Sadowsky would be a nicer version of the Fender?

Any opinions guys? Will probably be sold before I make a decision. Also what do you think of the price? Bear in mind we pay more here in the uk - £799 for a MIA Fender Jazz as an example.

I have never played a Sadowsky just read some great things about them.

Thanks for any replies in advance

Steve

2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    I would recommend not selling your two basses and saving up for the Sadowsky. GAS can lead to a vicious circle where you're always looking for "the" bass. I'm sure that a Sadowsky will be great, but it won't walk on water either. If you like your Fender, keep it, anybody who has played for any length of time can tell you about the bass they sold or traded that they found couldn't be replaced. Furthermore, if at all possible, find a Sadowsky you can play just to see if you really would like it.

3. Another thing you can do is to buy the outboard stomp box for a few hundred bucks to make your own comparison.

4. birdsg

birdsg

Dec 18, 2003
    Birmingham England
    Thanks for the replies guys!!