Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by addylewis, Sep 4, 2005.

1. Hi - I've got a proposal that could prove to be an educational hazard...first let me state that I have been doing a BA (hons) degree in popular music for 2 years and am aproaching my final year

I put an ad up on the internet to find a band

I've found one that are further ahead in terms of what I was thinking of - they have released a single on Creation records (home of "The Others" and "The Paddingtons"). They have A&R men interested from labels in London, they are managed by OASIS' manager, have supported Babyshambles (ex-Libertines PETE DOHERTY'S new band) and they more or less do it full time (practice 4 times a week, have weekend jobs) - they are also hoping to record an album in a few months. I think they may have a chance.

I have not auditioned for them yet, but I'm meeting them on tuesday for a drink and a chat...

My dilemma is - I cannot rehearse 4+ times a week whilst doing 3rd year of a degree, if I choose the band and we make it then my dreams of becoming a star are true - if we mess up after a few months then I've potentially lost 2 years plus of a qualification that would almost guarantee me a half-decent job...

I know, I may not even get in the band - but I'd like some advice and opinions on what to do/say when I meet 'em...

NOTE: The band on the link is the said band
  2. Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    When you sit and chat with them, just express your concern. See if they'll work around it and what not. Talk to THEM about it :p.
    Good luck!!

3. spc

Apr 10, 2004
    South of Boston