1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Should I Use A Buffer With A Long True Bypass Box?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Bryan R. Tyler, Mar 2, 2008.

1. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    I was thinking about getting a larger true bypass looper- something with 6-8 loops on it, and was curious if, with all the extra wiring it would be adding, I should use a buffer/clean boost like the WOBO one or similar.

I mainly want to get one for the convenience of being able to turn everything on and off in one strip without having to dance my foot around (it may sound pathetic but with my poor eyesight, I often miss the pedal I'm attempting to step on). I've been using bypass loopers for at least five years now, but never more than a two-loop model, so I figured I'd ask if a buffer/booster was a good idea.

2. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    Bryan, yes you definitely should.

3. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    I assume it would go at the end of the signal chain for best results, correct?

4. The Lurker

The Lurker

Aug 16, 2002
    Ankh-Morpork
    so wait, now something is TOO true-bypass?:eek:

5. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Supporting Member

It's not now. It's always been this way.
    Most people are just too deep into the current true-bypass fashion to see it.

6. I would put it right at the top of the chain. The main thing you want to "buffer" is your pickups.

7. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    Personally, I'd put it after my fuzz boxes, but before everything else.