Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Should I.....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bass_Machine, Oct 27, 2005.

1. Bass_Machine

Bass_Machine

Oct 29, 2004
    UK
    .....get a 6er?

I know this topic has been discussed a lot, but the search function brought up a lot of stuff, and I could only give vague search terms.

I was wondering whether people generally thought I should explore the world of the 6-string bass.
    I have been playing bass for around 2 years now and I own a fretted yamaha bb604 and an unlined fretless vintage v940fl. Both of these instruments I really love, and can't see myself getting rid of; but I am thinking of getting a 6 string as my next bass. I play in a couple of bands some blues, jazz, funk and a modern rock/indie type band. Between my fretless and my fretted I have all of these covered.
    However, I am quite into chordal stuff, and I'm really feeling these days that I would like a high C. I wouldn't use it as much as C, but I also feel the need for a low B, in case I wanna go lower than E (sometimes required) without detuning.

I feel there are no 6 stringers in my area ( :scowl: ) and I would be the only bassist playing such an instrument. I kinda feel that people in my bands/others my look down on it. I also feel myself that it would seem a little ungainly to have such an instrument when I only need a 4 for that particular song. I also worry about getting used to the physical and psychological sides of a 6er.

My price range is around £500-£700, so could you guys recommend some 6ers around that price that would be good to start out on? It would have to be quite versatile and have a nice B string (not too floppy). I've looked at Dean Q6 basses and they seem quite nice.