1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should "Music Theory" Forum Be Independent of Instrument, Instead of in the "Double Bass" Section?

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by mrmxyzptlk, Aug 8, 2018.

1. mrmxyzptlk

mrmxyzptlk

Jul 16, 2008
    Hi! I've been a member of TalkBass for several years. I posted only sporadically for a long time, and have only recently stepped up my activity a bit. I never knew until today that there was a "Music Theory" forum. It was hidden from my sight because I post mostly in the "Bass Guitar" forums. Interesting.

I'm a trained musician who has played lots of jazz gigs and club dates. I just happen to have done them exclusively on electric bass. It never would have occurred to me that some would consider music theory to be of interest only to upright players. Or perhaps electric bassists discuss theory in the "General Instruction" forum?... Anyway, I guess I'll poke my head in here from time to time to look for music theory discussions!

J_Bass likes this.
  2. Too many "alternative facts" when the BG side discusses music theory for me, sorry.

dtsand, DrayMiles, IamGroot and 4 others like this.
  3. salcott

salcott Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2007
    NYC, Inwood.
    A lot of them prefer tab to actually learning anything about theory.

4. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    Theory discussions do indeed happen in the General Instruction subforum on the slab side. There are only a handful of threads each month, sadly.

If I need my fix, I come here... Or go read a book. It's not impossible.

I would question however, whether any instrument based divides in music theory subs need to be established. Why have Music Theory subs on both sides, and not discuss theory in one larger general subforum?