Should the sound guy source backline gear too?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by lat, Feb 6, 2019.

1. lat

lat

Dec 30, 2014
    Lower Basstonia
    So, I got asked to do sound for a touring act at a local cultural society hall (seats about 250 people) for $300. I said sure. Good pay for doing sound.

I find out later that the tour is a fly-in and they are only supplying their guitars. Full drum kit, 2 keyboards and rack, 3 guitar amps and a bass rig are to be sourced locally. My response was that I would help with setting up the gear / PA and doing sound, but sourcing gear would need to be someone else's job (with the exception of the bass rig, which I have experience with). My reason for pushing back on sourcing the gear is that A: I have no experience with that, and more importantly B: While I am doing sound, I want to concentrate on that. If an issue arises with some of the gear, I don't want that distracting me from doing sound.

My question is, am I out of line for taking this stance, or is this consistent with how others would do it?

Thanks for your feedback everyone.

Kubicki Fan, MCF, Charlzm and 2 others like this.
  2. Barisaxman

Barisaxman Gold Supporting Member

Aug 17, 2005
    Omaha, NE
    If they wanted me to source/supply backline as part of my production agreement, it would cost extra as I'd probably have an extra person on hand just to deal with any issues that might arise. More than likely I'd tell them to hire backline from a professional company that has the inventory to satisfy the band's needs and the staff to provide support so I could concentrate on production. I think you're right on target.

Zbysek, Ronzo, tekhedd and 18 others like this.
  3. LBS-bass

LBS-bass

Nov 22, 2017
    Hiring a sound engineer is not equivalent to hiring a sound company. If they needed gear, they should have done the latter.

4. lat

lat

Dec 30, 2014
    Lower Basstonia
    Here was my response, when they questioned why I was pushing back: