1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Should this old dog learn any new tricks?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by gimmeagig, Jan 22, 2012.

1. I've been playing bass for over 30 years and I thought my technique was pretty good but watching some of those youtube guys I'm starting to have the feeling that I might have to make some changes.
    Here's the problem.
    On my 5 sting bass when I play the E A or D strings I was getting this clacking sound kind of like the strings were hitting the Fretboard. My attack is kind of medium, I don't dig in really hard and I'm not wimpy either. So I had to get more relief in the neck and raise the action. That would make it go away.
    I do not have that problem on my 4 string basses(74 Jazz and Modulus VJ) but I have it on two 5 stringers that I own.(the 5ers are a Moon JB5 and a Atelier Z M265 so they are high quality instruments)
    On some youtube videos and i see these guys with speed and chops and I can't imagine them doing what they do with anything other that really low action. Henrik from Dirty Loops for example...
    There's a Jimmy Haslip clip and a Tamas Barbaras clip and some John Pena clips ( all guys who I like and try to emulate)where I also hear quite a bit of buzzing too. Which actually surprises me, it is not noticeable on their recordings.
    Am I more paranoid about avoiding the buzzing than I should be? Is a certain amount acceptable? I don't know. But that still leaves the annoying clacking sound...
    So I'm wondering if I need to change my setups and my technique a little as well.