Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Shoulder Pain!!!!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Groovin_Joe, Oct 10, 2003.

1. Hey... I have been slapping for about 6 months now, at first like most i started slow and i found that it was comming fast. I didn't speed up right off the bat. I still learn things quite slow and i dont consider my slapping to be all that great. And i also have trouble making up cool grooves with slapping, but that is a problem to be worked on at a later date.

My current problem is that I have been getting pain in my right shoulder(i'm a righty). My college music teacher showed me "Five G" and i did the slow thing first and no problem. But after a while the outside(opposed to front or back) of my right shoulder started to really hurt!

Is it something that i am doing wrong in my technique. I used the 10 Easy Steps to Slap Bass and an old video to take tecnique from. Is it perhaps i am not loose enough?

thanks to anyone that can help

PLEASE STOP THE PAIN!!! I WANT TO SPEED UP!!!

Adam

2. smarvelous

smarvelous

Jun 2, 2002
    Albany, CA
    Take this response with a grain of salt (as always)

My left shoulder always hurt from the weight of the bass on the strap. 3 weeks ago the problem became history. It had nothing to do with changing gear or even technique. It had to do with psychology.

A lot of musicians (myself included) have a "voice" running in their heads while they play. It says things like:

"That was good"
    "Man, that sucked"
    "That was passable, but if only I knew how to play X"
    "I'm never gonna get this, damnit"