1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Show us your diy/custom amplificaters...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Stromrider, Feb 19, 2008.

1. Stromrider

Stromrider

Feb 16, 2008
    CT, USA
    I apologize in advance if their already is a thread like this, but i did search and didn't find any. I also apologize in advance for my shoddy looking cabinets...

I just finished this thing today. The head is out of the Ampeg G-100 guitar amp ( :rollno: ), and the drivers came from some Fisher speakers ( :rollno: ). I have been playing a 1x10 version of this since i started playing bass about a year ago, and i thought since i had two of the 10"s i might as well build a new cab to hold me over until i built up a real rig. I just used heavy and cheap 3/4" MDF because its just a junker amp that i don't plan on taking anywhere. The combo has more low end than most cheap 2x10 combos, but the high mids and treble are uhh... smooth.

Picture005.

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    If Wishbass made an amp...

DIY preamp (BBBB, documented at my site).

DIY speaker

DIY power amp, based on "Amp1" kit from 41 Hz Audio, capable of putting out around 120 W.

Covers open to show the innards. Note the power amp is just for fun and experimentation, not for gigs. It contains none of the protections required for a commercial quality power amp.

Attached Files:

3. Stromrider

Stromrider

Feb 16, 2008
    CT, USA
    Very cool fdeck. Just looking at your BBBB preamp schematic, and wondering: what does the phase inverter in the preamp do to the sound?

4. Passinwind

Passinwind I know nothing. Commercial User

Dec 3, 2003
    Columbia River Gorge, WA.
    Owner/Designer &Toaster Tech Passinwind Electronics
    Just a couple of many examples of my DIY stuff:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

DIY Rack Head